Free!!!

3 12 2009

So today was a very new experience for me, one I know thousands can relate to, but I wish none had to.  The experience of losing your job, without having another job in line is terrifying, yet somehow quite freeing.  I first felt like the rug was being pulled out from under me, as millions of thoughts, fears and anxiety’s rushed to my brain. Thoughts like, “how will i pay my electric bill”, “what if i cant pay rent”, “what if i cant find another job in time”, “am i going to lose all my stuff”??? The last question, is where in I found my problem, “my stuff”? Apparently I had somehow come to the conclusion that I deserved all the belongings that were in my possession, and could not believe that they could be in jeopardy of being taken from me! Then I was quickly reminded of Job, specifically his reaction after having everything in his life (which was much more than I shall ever hope to possess), abruptly stripped away, and his response, “Naked I came from my mother’s womb, and naked shall I return. The LORD gave, and the LORD has taken away; blessed be the name of the LORD.”  (1:21 ESV) It seems as though Job had a good grasp on God’s sovereignty.  It was a tough, yet great reminder that all the “stuff” i was worried about losing, really isn’t mine anyways, so if the Lord chooses to take it all away, then who am I to question? This is such a freeing thought! I am free from being a slave to my stuff, since it isn’t mine to begin with! Hallelujah! I know what your next thought is, but know I didn’t tear my “robe”, or shave my head…yet

“1 In you, O LORD, do I take refuge;
let me never be put to shame;
in your righteousness deliver me!
2Incline your ear to me;
rescue me speedily!
Be a rock of refuge for me,
a strong fortress to save me!
3For you are my rock and my fortress;
and for your name’s sake you lead me and guide me;” Psalm 31:1-3

Actions

Information

One response

3 12 2009
Amy Holt

Perfectly said. God will bless a thankful heart. We will be praying for the “right” job for you. I know God will take care of everything in His time. Feeling FREE can be fun for a while!

Leave a Reply

