Words

16 09 2009

454542_40251032Lately God has really been destroying me of the idea that because I get up and lead people in worship through music, that my ministry ends there.  The fact is, is that I was called to something greater, and that is the redemptive work of Christ.  So I sit and ask myself the hard question of who in my life have I shared my faith with and then in turn seen them come to a saving knowledge of Christ? I have been on stage for many a nights and mornings when people have been redeemed through God’s working in a service, but as I said before, it can not end there, I was called to something greater.

Which has lead me to this thought, if after all of our church services and Bible study gatherings, and other events where we gather to encounter and engage with God and then leave and do not see others encounter and engage with God, could it be said that we left said gatherings the same as we entered, meaning we did not truly encounter God.  Let me first say, I strongly believe that God is always, constantly faithful every single day, He never changes! I do also believe that when we encounter God, truly encounter Him, it changes us, and thus changes those around us. It just happens, you can not leave the same way you entered when you encounter God! So what is happening? Perhaps we are not encountering God because we do not enter expecting to encounter God or even seeking to encounter God. Maybe we enter our church services and other gatherings because we desire to be better people or we feel it is the “right thing to do”. Or even scarier, we enter because it is the socially acceptable thing to do, or the “cool” thing to do. Maybe this comes from living in Dallas, and seeing so many churches as “the cool church” to go to or belong to.  Which is a sad statement, since it is not scriptural at all!!! Church should be dangerous (assuming it is a Gospel preaching church), because it should wreck our lives, and shatter our fleshly desires. Yes so many Christians (I include myself, dont worry) seem to have bought into the idea that I can go to church on Sunday, get a little God, then go and be a better person at work, not cuss as much, drink less, and people will see that and that will be my witness.  Unfortunately this is nowhere to be found in scripture.

Enter the ever popular statement “preach the gospel at all times, when necessary use words”.  Most people have accredited St. Francis of Assisi with this statement, but its nowhere in print.  This is a popular idea for many and is a cute idea, that our deeds should speak for themselves.  I agree, our lives should be our faith lived out daily, but for many this statement has become a cop out to get out of ever having to actually speak their faith.  The only problem for this statement is, scripture.  Considering first, that all of the disciples died martyrs deaths for sharing their faith, with their mouths, not just because they were preaching the gospel with their lives.  “Sing praises to the Lord, who sits enthroned in Zion! Tell among the people His deeds”. (Psalm 9:11) Christ Himself, gives us the perfect example in John 4 when He has His encounter with the woman at the well. It wasnt just that He was nice and polite to her, but that He shared with her who He was, and because of this she believed in Him, and “because of the woman who testified” (John 4:39), many of the people in her town also believed! It seems quite obvious to me that we are called to share our faith, daily, and why wouldnt we?  If we truly believe what we say we believe on Sunday mornings, then it should effect such a monumental change in us, that we wouldnt be able to stop sharing!  It is not just the job of the ministers and “professional Christians”.  I love how A.W. Tozer put it in his book The Pursuit of God, when speaking of the difference in the great “heroes of the faith” and the “average believer”, he says “they differed from the average person in that when they felt the inward longing they did something about it.” WOW! So the question is, what are we doing about it???

These were my thoughts for today, I’d love to hear what you think!!! questions or thoughts, I love insight, especially since I tend to just be a rambling thinker…I am Rob’s troubled heart…

Actions

Information

One response

22 01 2010
Alexis

I found your blog!
To this I will add the following quotes from some of your favorite people:

“Answering a student’s question, ‘Will the heathen who have not heard the Gospel be saved?’ thus (answered Spurgeon), ‘It is more a question with me whether we, who have the Gospel and fail to give it to those who have not, can be saved.'” (Spurgeon)

“And he said to them, “Go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the whole creation.” Mark 16:15

“The glory of God, and, as our only means to glorifying Him, the salvation of human souls, is the real business of life.” (C.S. Lewis)

“Any fool can write learned language. The vernacular is the real test. If you can’t turn your faith into it, then you either don’t understand it or you don’t believe it.” (C.S. Lewis)

And remember we must pray!
“Our continuing to pray for someone is a testimony of our faith not in them or in ourselves, but in God.” (Mark Dever)

Leave a Reply

